Easy Chicken Pot Pie

One of my favorite dishes is chicken pot pie.  I’m always on the prowl for a flaky crust wrapped around a hearty creamy chicken filling.   The Mrs. isn’t a big fan so I don’t eat it too often.  I made this bad boy after she left town recently.   I had left over pie crust from my recent banana cream pie and wanted to put it to good use.

This is the quick/easy recipe because I start with… I hate saying this… a can of cream of chicken soup.  GASP!  The HORROR!

I know, I know, I’m a hippogriff (nerd humor)… I’m mean hypocrite and I gave myself enough self loathing that you don’t have to.  I just tell myself “I’m doing it for those cooks who need a quick meal”, cause it makes me feel better. To the soup I add a cup or two of frozen mixed vegetables (depending on how much you like), salt, pepper and diced cooked chicken.

Soup and Chicken

This time I added in (uncooked) potatoes which was a first for me. You can skip this to make the dish ever quicker.  Cook this over medium until the vegetables and potatoes are soft.

Added Potatoes

I laid down the bottom pie crust in my cast iron pan and filled ‘er up.

Filled Up

Then I put the top layer on and put a couple slits to let the air escape.  I know the shot is blurry, I already told you my photographer was gone. I just wanted to show it nicely bundled up.

Blurry cover up

It bakes for 30-40 minutes at 375, until the crust is golden brown, and then it’s ready to eat.

Ready to Eat

I ate half for dinner and half for lunch the next day.  It’s good eaten hot or cold I discovered.


One response to “Easy Chicken Pot Pie

  • Katie!

    In both this recipe and your frittata one, I find myself impressed with your dicing skills. Those potatoes look nice and uniform. 🙂

    I actually just made a frittata last night with chorizo and chard. Good stuff.

Leave a comment